The Role Membership Request module allows users who are not in a role to apply for membership and administrative users to manage those applications.
This module functions outside the realm of the normal permissions hierarchy. It can be viewed by any user with membership in Site Administrators, Security Administrators, or Dashboard Management site-level roles with no regard to permissions assigned to the tab on which the module is placed. For more information on the roles referenced in this section please see the role based security topic. Administrative users can configure additional module settings by clicking the button.
If the module has not yet been configured a notice will appear to all users that configuration is required.
NOTE: This module has special configuration requirements that must be performed prior to use. See the Role Membership Request Configuration topic for more details.
Applying for Role Membership
If the end-user is not already a member of the role that this module is configured for they will receive a message stating that they are already a role member and that there is nothing else to do.
For end-users that are not already a member of the configured role they will receive a message with guidance on applying for role membership. Additionally, they may be prompted to provide a justification for the access.
To apply click the Sign Up button to apply for membership. If auto-enrollment is enabled the end-user will instantly be assigned to the role without receiving an email and be able to take advantage of membership immediately.
Managing Role Membership Applications
If there are any pending role membership applications they will be displayed in a data table that contains the name of the user applying for access, the role name which they are applying for, and a justification for why they feel they should be allowed into the role.
Administrative users will need to check the boxes of all the account that they wish to either accept or reject (not both) and then press either the Approve Selected or Reject Selected buttons. For rejections an explanation should be provided. All users either approved or rejected will receive an email to their registered email address informing them of the decision.
Once the applications have been replied to they disappear from the module.
Copyright © 2023 pasUNITY, Inc.
Send comments on this topic.